YouTube Red is a premium service without ads. Assume that 1.5% of initial YouTube user base signs up for the service. What is the lifetime revenue Google generates from those users?
- Kane Morgan
What is the product? Youtube Red is a subscription service by Youtube where users can watch/listen to content ad-free and have some aditional benefits like downloading content etc. This service is offered as One-month free trial and then user starts paying for it.
How is Lifetime revenue calculated?
Lifetime revenue = Paying Customers X Life time value
Lifetime value = Avg. price of plan X frequency X lifetime
Assumptions:
- Average price of plan = $10, Taking average across regions
- Frequency is monthly. Considering monthly plans as the major share.
Lets start calculating:
No. of paying customers:
- Monthly active users (MAU) for Youtube = 2Bn
- Users signed up for the Subscriptions = 2Bn X 1.5% = 30Mn
- Users who would convert to paid subscribers = 30Mn X 10% = 3 Mn (This is an opt-in subscription i.e. user do not provides payment at start of trial. The CR for opt-in subscriptions is lower than opt-out and we are assuming it close to 10%.)
Customer Lifetime:
- Lifetime can be calculated using churn rate, Lifetime = 1/churn rate
- Assuming retention rate of 50%, Churn rate would be 50% (based on retention rates of Netflix, Youtube TV which are close to 70%, the retention for Youtube Preemium would be close to 50%)
- Lifetime = 1/50% = 2 years
Bringing it together,
Lifetime revenue = 3 Mn (paying customers) X $10 X 12 (months) X 2 (year) )= $720 Mn

Google